On My Birthday Eve (3.8.19)

The moment I got home, Cara was shouting from upstairs, “Do you choose option 1 or option 2?”  

I calmly reminded her that my birthday was not until tomorrow and that I would like to wait.  Her initial response was a grumble. Cara was excited to hand off her handpicked items she selected at CVS for my birthday!  I am not sure why CVS was the chosen store for my gifts. Regardless, my daughter wanted to get me something.  She was fired up that my husband let her pick out things that would make me smile for my birthday.  

She was beaming with pride that she was able to buy me a present, but she is also a terrible secret keeper.  Before I could unload all the groceries into our kitchen, she was handing over a birthday card and bag for me to open.  She had so much JOY to give me a present and demanded I not wait until the morning of my actual birthday, which was option 2 in her opinion. I admired the hand written envelope: To Mommy, From Cara, I LOVE YOU (insert hearts into each o).  “I did it all by myself, mama!” she proclaimed.  Seeing her handwriting across the pink envelope made me grin.  

Inside the bag, there were two bottles of nail polish of a pretty lavender hue, one simple and one with a little sparkle. There was also a box of Reese’s pieces (anything with chocolate and peanut butter is my favorite candy!).  She also convinced my husband to let her add a Starbucks and Panera gift card to the mix. She knows I enjoy my coffee and that Starbucks is such a treat!  Her hand selected gifts were such a kind gesture, and secretly, I think she knows I’ll share them all with her.  

My sweet girl and husband warmed my heart with their thoughtfulness on the eve of my birthday!  

  

5 thoughts on “On My Birthday Eve (3.8.19)

  1. I’m so glad you are writing these stories down on this website. All the stories I said I should write down when my kids were little have now disappeared from my memory! Your daughter is precious!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. First of all I LOVE the writing and the hearts are absolutely priceless! Second, I can’t blame Cara for being so excited. My favorite part about Christmas is giving everyone the presents I bought them. I wish I could buy them, run home and wrap them and give them to the recipient all in the same day. Hopefully the love of GIVING will stay with her before it is taken over by the love of RECEIVING!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment